Nicholas McGegan

Boston Globe: Playful spirit enlivens Handel and Haydn Society concert

“…from the moment that Nicholas McGegan took the podium to conduct the Handel and Haydn Society at Symphony Hall Friday night, it was evident that a more playful approach had […]


Mozart and Arriaga with the Handel + Haydn Society

“…McGegan stirred the whole ensemble to a double-forte frenzy, which slowly faded as Don Juan descended and disappeared from view, in as clear a musical depiction of damnation as could […]

Nicholas McGegan

McGegan delivers “delight, and a vivid musical experience” at Baltimore

“Every detail, every gesture in the concert revealed a seriousness of purpose essential to deliver delight, and a vivid musical experience…It was an uplifting and revitalising concert, reminding us that extraordinary […]

La Gloria di primavera

Scarlatti, Alessandro: La Gloria di Primavera

Composer: Scarlatti, Alessandro Performers Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra Diana Moore, mezzo-soprano Suzana Ograjenšek, soprano Clint van der Linde, countertenor Nicholas Phan, tenor Douglas Williams, baritone Philharmonia Chorale, Bruce Lamott director Conductor […]

Haydn Violin Concertos

Joseph Haydn: Violin Concertos

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

Hommage A Trois

William Berger: Hommage A Trois

Composer: Haydn, Mozart, Cimarosa

All I want for Christmas

All I want for Christmas is…….

OK. I’ll admit it, I am not very fond of the modern Christmas. I simply can’t get into the spirit of Santa, Rudolf, dinky elves, even the whole story of […]

Nicholas McGegan

Musical Toronto: 38 Questions For Nicholas McGegan

“British-born conductor Nicholas McGegan is as a frequent visitor in Toronto. He last led the Toronto Symphony Orchestra through Handel’s Messiah in 2012, prompting John Terauds to call it the […]

Viennese Delights

Viennese Delights

A couple of weeks ago I had the great pleasure of revisiting Vienna. I had been there often in the 1970’s when I was playing in a piano trio in […]